skip to main content
The Association of British Counties

Gazetteer of
British Place Names

The definitive reference source to Great Britain. Explore over 280,000 places.

 Menu  Menu

← back to Section 4 - Notes for Historians and Genealogists

Appendix E. Places in Scotland which lay in a registration county of a different name to their historic county in the 1861 Census

At the time of the 1861 Census of Scotland, the parishes listed in Column 1 lay in more than one county. The counties in which which each lay are listed in Column 2. For the purposes of the Census of 1861 each parish was considered to be wholly a part of that registration county with the same name as the last county listed in column 2 (e.g. Alyth was part of the registration county of Perth).

Parish                           Counties

Abernethy                        Inverness / Elgin
Abernethy                        Fife / Perth
Alyth                            Forfar / Perth
Ardnamurchan                     Inverness / Argyll
Arngask                          Perth / Fife
Arngask                          Kinross / Fife
Ashkirk                          Selkirk / Roxburgh
Banchory-Devenick                Aberdeen / Kincardine
Beith                            Renfrew / Ayr
Bellie                           Banff / Elgin
Boharm                           Banff / Elgin
Cabrach                          Banff / Aberdeen
Cairney                          Banff / Aberdeen
Cathcart                         Lanark / Renfrew
Cawdor                           Inverness / Nairn
Coupar-Angus                     Perth / Forfar
Cramond                          Linlithgow / Edinburgh
Cromdale                         Elgin / Inverness
Croy                             Nairn / Inverness
Culter                           Peebles / Lanark
Daviot and Dunlichty             Nairn / Inverness
Drumoak                          Kincardine / Aberdeen
Dunlop                           Renfrew / Ayr
Duthill                          Inverness / Elgin
Dyke and Moy                     Nairn / Elgin
East Kilpatrick (New Kilpatrick) Stirling / Dumbarton
Edzell                           Kincardine / Forfar
Fala and Soutra                  Haddington / Edinburgh
Forgandenny                      Kinross / Perth
Fossaway and Tulliebole          Perth / Kinross
Galashiels                       Roxburgh / Selkirk
Gartly                           Banff / Aberdeen
Glass                            Banff / Aberdeen
Gorbals                          Renfrew / Lanark
Govan                            Renfrew / Lanark
Innerleithen                     Selkirk / Peebles
Inveravon                        Elgin / Banff
Keith                            Elgin / Banff
Kettins                          Perth / Forfar
Kilmalie                         Inverness / Argyll
Kippen                           Perth / Stirling
Kirkliston                       Edinburgh / Linlithgow
Lecropt                          Stirling / Perth
Liff, Benvie and Invergowrie     Perth / Forfar
Logie                            Clackmannan / Perth
Logie                            Stirling / Perth
Moffat                           Lanark / Dumfries
Moy and Dalarossie               Nairn / Inverness
New Kilpatrick (East Kilpatrick) Stirling / Dumbarton
New Machar                       Banff / Aberdeen
Old Deer                         Banff / Aberdeen
Oldhamstocks                     Berwick / Haddington
Petty                            Nairn / Inverness
Reay                             Sutherland / Caithness
Roberton                         Roxburgh / Selkirk
Rothes                           Banff / Elgin
Selkirk                          Roxburgh / Selkirk
Small Isles                      Argyll / Inverness
Stirling                         Clackmannan / Stirling
Stow                             Selkirk / Edinburgh
Urquhart and Logie-Wester        Nairn / Ross and Cromarty
Urray                            Inverness / Ross and Cromarty

← back to Section 4 - Notes for Historians and Genealogists